Because I Must

I think this is the part where I say something deep and profound about it being a new year and all. In point of fact, I don’t often understand the importance of this holiday. Really. I mean, the point of New Year’s Eve seems to be 1)To get another day off of school/work/etc. and 2)To drink as much alcohol as humanly possible without passing out, dying, or being pulled over for a DUI by the police (on that note, lesson learned by observation last night: Margaritas are not water and thus should not be drunk as such). The point of New Year’s Day, on the other hand, still remains to be seen. I do think it’s important for us to note the passage of time and all of that, but does it really matter? I mean, the whole thing seems mostly arbitrary to me. Yes, it’s true that, as of midnight last night, a whole year had passed since we did this a year ago. But, at 11:59 last night, a whole year had passed since that point a year ago.

I hope this doesn’t sound massively cynical. Truly, I just don’t get it 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

