Sahara, et al

If you haven’t seen Sahara, you should go out and do that. Now. Before you finish reading this post.

Since you’re clearly not listening to me, I’ll tell you a little bit about why I like it. First of all, it’s a Dirk Pitt novel made into a movie. ‘Nuff said right there, actually. Clive Cussler’s books, especially the ones about Dirk Pitt, are one of my guilty pleasures in reading. I discovered them as a kid, when I saw that one of them was about raising the Titanic, dug in, and never really dug out. Except for the ones with human sacrifices. But they’re few and far between and, if you can get past the sacrifice, the rest of the book is still good. Really.

But back to the movie. It was like a combination between watching James Bond and watching Pirates of the Carribbean. Fun and kind-of silly with some fabulous one-liners and all sorts of impossible stuff happening left and right, and the guy gets the girl at the end. It’s great for developing a high, kick-ass attitude towards life. It would also, by the way, make a great drinking game–one shot every time something happens that should not have worked, and two when that happens, and then the characters acknowledge it.

Now, some quotes for those in the know. They won’t be funny if you haven’t seen the movie.

“I think we need to re-evaluate our decision-making paradigm.”

“Al, I need a door…NOW.”

“No, no, I’ll find the bomb, you go get the woman.” “Ok.”

“The Admiral is going to flip when he finds out what happened to his Sat phone…And he’ll be even worse when he finds out it was attached to his yacht.”

“They pulled a Panama.”

“What’s a Panama? Have you been to Panama?” “No, we were (somewhere else, I don’t remember).” “Then why do you call it a Panama.” “Because we THOUGHT we were in Panama.”

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Sahara, et al

  1. Joi

    YOU READ CLIVE CUSSLER TOO?????????????????????????? Ha!!!!

    You have no idea how happy this makes me. I thought I was the only girl my age who liked Dirk Pitt.

    My personal favorite book is Atlantis Found, with Inca Gold coming in at second.

Leave a Reply

