Batman!!!

So, I finally saw it the other night. “It” being Batman Begins. As in, that movie that I waited for forever that finally came out the day I left on my retreat and that my roommate…um…Jill…saw on that date and that I never did get to see. Until Thursday night, of course. And it was worth the wait.

I love Batman. Not like I want to marry the guy (which, given how the “romance” section of the movie turned out, is probably all for the best), but I think that Batman is the coolest superhero anyone ever came up with. Why? Because he’s just a guy. He wasn’t bitten by a poisonous spider, doesn’t hail from another planet, and doesn’t have any mutant powers. He’s just a man, driven by a passion (obsession?), with the training, skill, and (ok, let’s be honest here) cashflow to make that passion reality. He doesn’t need mutant powers. And I’ll stop here, before this turns into one of those, “My superhero’s better than your superhero,” conversations. But I like Batman.

And this was a good movie, worthy of the “Batman” name (unlike that awful one with our current governor and Alicia Silverstone…*shudder*). It was deeply psychological, and I say that even though I hate that description (I mean, what in the world does it mean? The the characters have psyches that function? That it weirds out the psyche of the viewer?). I know exactly how psychological it was, though, because of something I thought of during it. Right before we went to the movie, Dylan had come back from class really excited about the lecture, and had narrated it to me, complete with the prof’s stories and anecdotes. And that was great–I was interested in the material. A big chunk of it had to do with the different kinds of transference people experience. We spent a chunk of the conversation determining the difference between parataxic transference and clinical transference, which isn’t really important here. But, there’s this scene in Batman where the guy giving Bruce Wayne his martial arts training is trying to draw out Wayne’s anger about the death of his parents and get him to express it physically. So he taunts him, saying, “It was your father’s fault, Bruce. If only he had done something.” And, predictably, Wayne goes after him with more vengeance. And my thought, while watching this, was, “Hmm…well, that’s one way to draw out clinical transference.” And thus, my movie is psychological 😉

I’ll save the rest of the movie review for the movie reviewers, who, I’m sure, got in their 2 cents weeks ago.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

