Things I Could Blog About

I could blog about the adventure of cleaning Cumming’s tank, about the astonishing rate at which algae grows, and its incredible ability to cling to the side of his tank. I could blog about prying his scutes (shell scales) that are trying to shed off with my pocket knife (doesn’t hurt the turtle) because otherwise the algae grows under them. I could blog about how he doesn’t seem to have learned to stay away from his heater even though he burnt himself on it once, and what that says about the relative intelligence of the red-eared slider.

I could blog about how much I have to do tomorrow, about how somehow I ended up both leading supervision and taking my Theo II midterm on the same day (not my fault–Theo II prof changed the exam date), and how I feel about that. I could blog about how much I have or have not studied for said midterm and what that probably says about how much I enjoy and value the class, and about how I still need to pass said class to graduate. I could blog about what I think of a professor for whom everything relates back to getting people out of cults.

I could blog about how much I did last week, or at least, how much I feel like I did, probably because I didn’t get enough sleep. I could blog about how I tried to get enough sleep and my body wouldn’t sleep well, and the allergies that probably caused said lack of sleep. I could blog about all the ways I try to get myself to go back to sleep when I wake up in the middle of the night and find my mind spiralling in 100 different directions.

I could blog about what I think about the karate test last week, having been able to think about it and talk with others about it for a week now. I could blog about all the pretty colors my foot turned this week in response to the bruising, and how much surface area the bruise took up for a little while. I could blog about how my toe still hurts and is still swollen, and how I would go the Dr. for it except that they can’t help much even if it is broken. I could blog about what it felt like to not go to karate yesterday morning, which was the first time in a long time that I could have gone but didn’t.

I could blog about how anxious I’ve been about different things this week, and about how that probably contributes to my not sleeping so well and my general tiredness. I could blog about how I often handle my anxiety and fear pretty well, and am able to deny their power in the face of what I know to be true, but how I still hit situations where I don’t trust myself to know what’s true, and that’s when things get messy. I could tell you all so much about what I think and feel about this.

I could blog about how I want to get my hair cut on Friday, and how Stephanie thinks she’ll get hers cut. I could blog about what that means to her, and what I think about her cutting her hair after so long.

I could blog about all of these things and so many more, but I won’t šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

Filed under My Days

Leave a Reply

