Things I Discovered This Week That I Love

1. Sick days.

Seriously, I’ve never had a job before that just let you take off work AND get paid for it when you were sick. Due to the nature of my jobs (teacher and tutor for autistic kids), I’ve always had to find a substitute if I was too sick to show up. For me, it was never worth the 15 phone calls. I always just went. But now I don’t have to. I realized this week, when I was home, sick, that this was the first time since before I was in Jr. High that I stayed home because I was sick and wasn’t worried about what I was missing, having to make it up, etc. Ok, so some of that is me, but some of it is the ingenious invention that is the sick day.

2. Notes in Spanish

They do these podcasts where they just talk in Spanish, for both the intermediate and advanced levels. I’ve been listening to them both, and they’re really cool. It’s amazing how much I still understand. People don’t usually believe me when I say that I still speak and understand Spanish because, though I learned it in high school and became almost bilingual, I ddidn’t speak it hardly at all for 8 years. But I do. Granted, I don’t catch every singly word, but I definitely know what’s going on. And I keep trying to speak in Spanish when I’m done. I find myself thinking in 2 languages. I used to do that a lot, but it doesn’t happen so much anymore. I’d love to do spiritual direction in Spanish…that would be so cool.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists, Sundries

Leave a Reply

