Tears

“Whenever you find tears in your eyes, especially unexpected tears, it is well to pay the closest attention. They are not only telling you something about the secret of who you are, but more often than not God is speaking to you through them of the mystery of where you have come from and is summoning you to where, if your soul is to be saved, you should go to next.”

Frederick Buechner Beyond Words, Harper SanFrancisco, 2004, p. 383. October 19th, 2006

There have only been a few times in my life when crying my tears has been worse than not crying them. Actually, I write that more because I think it’s true than because I can think of any concrete cases. I’m sure there have been times when I cried to manipulate or get what I wanted instead of legitimately being sad or hurt, but those aren’t the tears that stand out.

Buechner is so right–tears help us move on. They help us let go. They help us find our way through the impenetrable darknesses of life. More than anything, I’ve found that they help me to get past the noise to the place where God’s voice is clear.

Leave a comment

Filed under Becoming

Leave a Reply

