Booking Through Thursday

This is a great meme.  Actually, I’m not a huge fan of this week’s question, but only because I don’t have much to say.

The question: Have you ever missed an important appointment because you have become so engrossed in a book you forgot the time or were up so late reading that you didn’t wake up in time? Been late to work because you couldn’t resist the temptation and left the house too late?

My answer: I haven’t ever missed an important appointment or not woken up on time or been late to work because I was reading.  But I have stayed up until the wee hours of the morning and exhausted myself before a big test or an early morning or a week of work.  And I have put off watching a movie with my husband until it was too late just so I could finish (the fact that I’ve only been married about 3 months enhances that one, somehow).

Except for the movie-watching-with-husband part, most of this hasn’t actually happened recently?  If you know me, you’ll remember the three-week retreat I went on a couple of years ago.  If you don’t know me, well, I went on a three-week retreat a couple of years ago.  And it changed how I read.  Now, I almost never read obsessively.  I still love it–reading is still one of my favorite forms of relaxation, but I don’t need it like I used to.  I have a higher tolerance for classic (read “often slow”) literature and non-fiction than I used to.

My theory?  I became satisfied enough with my own life that I didn’t need to put myself into fictional ones.  Or something like that.  I don’t entirely understand it.  Most of the time, I no longer read to escape but to relax or entertain myself.  I don’t read to get away or transport myself somewhere else, but to enhance the life I’m living every day.

Ha!  I bet that’s not where anyone expected this question to go!

1 Comment

Filed under My Days

One response to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Deborah

    This is a great meme! How good you are at finding interesting sites on the internet – there are several I would never have heard of if it weren’t for you.

Leave a Reply

