I feel bad for Paris

And seriously, this is a point of personal growth for me. Paris is not just an airhead, or an airheaded celebrity, or even a pampered girl who needs to give up the celebrity act already. She’s a human being, and a human being who has been treated shabbily over the last week or so.

I don’t know if she should be in jail. I don’t really have an opinion on that. I hear the people who say that others who do what she did walk all the time, and that jails are too crowded, and that there are better consequences for violations like hers. I also hear those who say that someone needs to be made an example of, that everyone who does what she did ought to be in jail. I think they both have good arguments and I’m not sure there is a right answer.

What I am sure of is that she has walked a hard road recently. First, the deterioration of her mental condition in jail. People scoff, but that actually makes sense to me. She doesn’t strike me as someone who has a lot of inner structure. She’s had money and things and people and fame, and these things have held her up and told her who she is. In jail, she was stripped of those things, and this was done in a public manner. It doesn’t surprise me that she wasn’t holding up and that things were becoming serious.

Right or not, the LA County Sheriff (I believe) made the decision to let her go. This wasn’t her choice. It may have been something that, in her lostness, she asked for, but she had no say over whether she got it or not. People say that it shows how spoiled she is, but I don’t see how that works. Whining usually doesn’t move people to let you out of jail. This decision wasn’t in her hands.

Then, she was hauled before a judge (she couldn’t come on her own–she was under house arrest!) by a sheriff who didn’t want to bring her (they initially refused under arguments about jurisdiction) and sent back to jail. This was little more than a pissing match between the judge and the sheriff. It had very little to do with Paris. She was caught in the middle because she is high-profile, and they both wanted to make a statement.

So now she is back in jail. I’m thankful, for her, that someone had the wherewithall to put her somewhere (a hospital) where she could get some help before they threw her back. But I feel badly for her. She got caught in the middle of something bigger than herself, and that thing was then made even bigger because it involved her. She tried to do what was right–to go to jail and endure. She tried to endure, and got all of this awful publicity in return.

I feel for her, but I don’t want to make her entirely into a victim. Whether she knew she wasn’t supposed to drive or not (and I would actually say that she didn’t–she’s silly, but she doesn’t strike me as stupid…at least not stupid enough to drive where she knows she’s going to be photographed when doing that could have serious consequences), she did drink and drive initially. What I see, though, is that she was willing to correct that mistake. She was willing to spend the time in jail. And it was hard for her. So hard that people were concerned for her (and probably for their own reputations). And then she got caught up in the whirlwind.

3 Comments

Filed under Becoming

3 responses to “I feel bad for Paris

  1. I suppose that if we should lose compassion for anyone, we should be in danger of losing compassion altogether. So, it touches me to see your compassion for this woman. Indeed, no matter our trespasses, God has compassion for us all.

  2. Thank you…I’m humbled and honored that you’re touched. Actually, I’ve been feeling compassion for a lot of celebrities lately…and I don’t know why. I hear more about them, because I’m reading newsfeeds more. And they do truly seem to be some of the more miserable people I hear about–if everything I did was in the morning paper, I’d be in rehab, too!

  3. Sarah – your compassion is amazing. Your post has given me good food for thought and changed the way I look at Paris. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

